it begins

August 24, 2008 at 3:31 pm 1 comment

most of the runners in my group have no idea that i’ve registered for disney. i’m not sure why i’ve hesitated to tell them. i think maybe i feel inferior. somewhat incapable of attempting what they are so comfortable doing. they’ve never made me feel as though i am any less of a runner than they are so i suppose it’s just my own insecurity and jealousy of what comes naturally to many of them. but i’ve still only mentioned it to a very select few.

i finally broke down and told eko ~ the fearless leader of our group ~ and i quickly realized i had been denying myself a valuable resource. here i’ve been, researching training plans for disney, guessing at what would work best for me. it’s been overwhelming and i was beginning to feel as though i’d fail before i even started. in telling eko, i hoped for a little advice and maybe a little confirmation that i could succeed. what i got was that and more.

i now have my training schedule. it’s not furman. nor is it higdon. it’s mine. all mine. eko took my most recent race times, my schedule and my goals and tailored it specifically to me. bec’s maiden marathon training plan. what i like is that it doesn’t just lay out my mileage. it details my pace ~ from my warm up to my cool down. and it doesn’t force me to run specific days of the week. there’s flexibility to adjust which is a necessity in my life. and it has me finishing, if all goes according to plan, well within my desired time. it’s a 16-week plan, so technically training has been pushed back to start sept. 22 but the next few weeks have to be dedicated to upping my mileage. eko wants me comfortably at a 30-mile week with a long run of 10. lately i’ve been lucky if i manage somewhere in the weekly 15 to 20 range and the last 10 i did hurt like hell. i took this weekend kind of lite figuring this was my final reprieve. tomorrow everything changes. it’s time.

beginning next sunday i will be writing weekly updates recapping each week ~ plan versus actual, distance and times, aches and pains. now starts my journey.

Entry filed under: fear, life, running. Tags: , .

destination disney many miles ’til mickey

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. sarahwrites2  |  August 24, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    excellent…can’t wait to read more!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 150 other followers

the best of times

5k pr ~ 24:23
10k pr ~ 52:49
half marathon pr ~ 1:55:10
marathon pr ~ 4:10:41
half ironman pr ~ 5:57:50
50k pr ~ 5:33:23
50-mile pr ~ 11:32:39

Categories

Archives


