my thanks

November 28, 2008 at 12:08 pm 1 comment

as much as i appreciate the concept of thanksgiving, it really isn’t a big deal to me. not anymore. not since. and to compound the emptiness it still brings, this year left me alone with no family to toast. my mother out west. my brothers scattered. even my own daughter … gone with her dad to see the extended. but regardless i wanted to find a way to make the day be about things i truly cherish. the people and things that fill my every day and make me appreciate my life. so this year thanksgiving was about …

spending the first half of my day with a good friend ~ jason ~ always here for me regardless of what is and what isn’t

meeting a new friend ~ denise ~ a fellow blogger and runner also training for disney (read her here)

being cheered on by my running group ~ my mentors, challengers and team mates ~ as i ran the turkey trot for a 10k PR of 53:07

running ~ my cheap therapy ~ and a valid excuse to be able to stuff myself full of thanksgiving goodies

eating dinner with a friend ~ kara ~ and being welcomed with open arms at her family’s table

my dog ~ kiva ~ sometimes the best confidant a girl can have

my friends and family ~ my lifelines ~ far from sight but always in my heart

thank you for making my life complete

Entry filed under: life, relationships, running. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

7 weeks ’til mickey 6 weeks ’til mickey

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. denisermt  |  November 29, 2008 at 4:43 am

    I would be thankful for your running time, too! That is awesome!

    Thanks for the shout out! 🙂

    It was really great meeting you at the Turkey Trot! Happy Thanksgiving!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 150 other followers

the best of times

5k pr ~ 24:23
10k pr ~ 52:49
half marathon pr ~ 1:55:10
marathon pr ~ 4:10:41
half ironman pr ~ 5:57:50
50k pr ~ 5:33:23
50-mile pr ~ 11:32:39

Categories

Archives


