my final hoo-rah!

October 23, 2009 at 2:29 pm 2 comments

well this will be a brief and final update before i head out to catch my flight up to dc to run the marine corp marathon. the last few weeks have been emotionally draining. i’m in over my head with things with jc and it’s come to a breaking point of sorts. the week away should do me well. clear my head. distance me from things. i simply hope that i can pull my head out of my ass and get my focus back onto the run in time ~ 41 hours until gun.

my running lately has been minimal but strong. sunday’s run in the cooler temps was more than i had hoped for. it was just me, the rising sun, my ipod, the water. 10 miles of therapy. from a rational standpoint i can say it was a training success. a sub-9 minute average and legs that felt like air. from an emotional standpoint i can say it was life redeeming. a reminder of my love of the run and the heart i bring to it. the last few days have left that feeling fleeting but  it’s there. not far beneath the surface and i’m trying to put everything else aside and reach for that from this moment forward.

as for my goal … it’s still somewhat undefined. it will all depend on whether or not i get my mo-jo back.

my hope; sub 4:05
my acceptable; sub 4:08
my all time kick-ass-but-i-doubt-it’s-going-to-happen; sub 4:00

semper fi.

Entry filed under: 30-something single, fear, relationships, running. Tags: , , .

setting the pace one today at a time

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessica  |  October 23, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    Good luck! My husband and I are running a marathon next April… My 2nd, his 1st

    Reply
  • 2. gr4c5  |  October 23, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    You can do it. You WILL do it. I have faith.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 150 other followers

the best of times

5k pr ~ 24:23
10k pr ~ 52:49
half marathon pr ~ 1:55:10
marathon pr ~ 4:10:41
half ironman pr ~ 5:57:50
50k pr ~ 5:33:23
50-mile pr ~ 11:32:39

Categories

Archives


