tat’s a tough choice

February 22, 2010 at 1:23 pm 3 comments

when the bunny and i were training for disney, we both talked about getting tattoos to symbolize the success of our first marathon. a couple weeks after the race she took the plunge and got this on her calf.

now, two marathons and an upcoming third later and i still have yet to commit to the ink. i already have one tat. small. inconspicuous. so i’m certainly not opposed of the concept of tattoos. but i will admit that i wish i’d given more thought to what and where i had it done.

so since i’m still a little iffy on things, i’m turning to you ~ my few readers ~ for advice. opinions. thoughts.

the most important decision is, of course, the design. second is where to put it. i’d like something i can show off while running if i want to but as a professional i need to ensure it’s concealable. i want something that symbolizes the marathon run but offers potential for the half iron man dream. i want something artistic and unique but identifiable. so all that said, let’s start with the where.

i’m leaning towards the left shoulder blade or the back of my neck. i almost always wear my hair down except when running so the neck is easily hidden. the shoulder blade is as well but i do worry about the limitation on strapless and halter tops. of course i don’t wear halters to the office but somehow i can’t picture wearing a strapless dress to a formal event and having a tattoo show. are there other places i should consider?

as for the design. the first option is a runner girl. i’d add 26.2 along the upper part of the right leg and likely get it done more like the runner in the tri tat below. .. and depending on where i get it and size i get it it does allow for the expanded tri version though that’s probably a little more than i would ever want to do.

Β Β Β 

another thought, is some variation on the celtic triskele ~ which literally translated means three-legged. there is a LOT of room for artistic design on the triskele. here are a few different ones. i’d put 26.2 inside one of the legs and then could always add 70.3 should i ever actually do a half iron man.

the bunny is going to be here this weekend to run the half. so if i can decide in the next few days, she’ll go with me to get it done on sunday after the races. should i do it? or does the simple fact that i have to ask mean i’m not ready?

Entry filed under: running. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

what’s a little 26.2 mile run? my gasparilla distance classic final voyage

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Run DMT  |  February 23, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    I have always wanted a tattoo but I am way too chicken to do it and could never commit to a design that I liked. So, I’ll live vicariously through you. πŸ˜‰ They’re all really cool, but I love Celtic designs, You could always make it large enough to put 26.2 inside the design.

    Reply
  • 2. bgirl875  |  February 24, 2010 at 12:08 am

    I like the running girl and I was also going to suggest the neck. Sounds painful but you have a lot of flexibility there. My friend got one between the back of her ear and her hairline. But I think your design might be too big for that placement. I just like that you can only see it when she has her hair up, which she never really does in a professional setting. My tri-friend has one on her left wrist, and when she wants she just covers it with an arm bracelet or band. I love the placement and her design which is a symbol for “love life” or “live life to the fullest” or something of that sort… is Gorgeous! Another cute idea might be to ask your daughter. Funny how they have the BEST insight sometimes =)

    Just like Run DMT, I’m too chicken to get one. So I too will be living vicariously through you. Keep me posted on what you get!

    Reply
  • 3. paul  |  March 9, 2010 at 12:05 am

    I lived with a piece of paper with the design of my tattoo in my room where I could look at it for over a year πŸ™‚ It’s an obvious tattoo to have for me too and is inconspicuous, but I still decided I would wait as long as I was on the fence …

    So … the designs are all wonderful but once you settle on it, live with it for a bit would be my advice before the imprint πŸ™‚ And with something like 26.2, does that define who you are?

    Just curious πŸ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 150 other followers

the best of times

5k pr ~ 24:23
10k pr ~ 52:49
half marathon pr ~ 1:55:10
marathon pr ~ 4:10:41
half ironman pr ~ 5:57:50
50k pr ~ 5:33:23
50-mile pr ~ 11:32:39

Categories

Archives


