cheated miles

April 25, 2010 at 7:09 pm 2 comments

week of april 18
total mileage 25 ~ with a little cheat
asics gt-2150s  miles 320
total 2010 miles 362

sunday off

monday 6 miles ~gornto with buns
average 9:27 ~ but mile one and mile six were 8:27 and 8:30 respectively (the two miles i did without buns)

tuesday 3 miles ~ four green
average 8:27

wednesday 6 miles + arms + body flow ~ my crazy gym night

thursday off

friday off

saturday off

sunday 10 miles ~ bayshore
average 8:58

technically i only did 15 miles for the week but i’m going to count the long run i got in today since i fully intend on getting in another long run this coming week. the week started out well but then other things took priority. i spent thursday night out with my ex-mother-in-law who was in town. and friday ~ sab’s birthday ~ i worked at home and then picked her up early as a birthday surprise. yes, my baby is now ten years old. double digits. pre-pre-teen. help me! actually she’s such a good kid and i hope ~ or more accurately pray with all my might on a daily basis ~ that she won’t be even half the teenage terror that i was. my mother, however, is hoping for paybacks 😉  anyway, i hoped to run on the tread saturday morning but her party was that afternoon and there was just too much to do. but all went well and i can happily report that having a double-digit kid doesn’t make me feel old … well maybe just a little but i think i can handle it.

this morning i got up early and headed down to bayshore alone. buns had said he might join me for the second half of my run but he spent all day yesterday drinking by the pool and i was pretty certain he wouldn’t be at my turn point when i got there. and i have to admit i was pretty happy when he wasn’t. i needed this one alone. the run didn’t start out well. it wasn’t hot out ~ only 73 ~ but the 94 percent humidity was enough to suck the life out of me from the moment i stepped out of the car. and from the get go the ankle was feeling a little wonky ~ i think the tendonitis is flaring up again. but about three miles in i found my zone and relished the fact that sunday mornings on bayshore are almost completely empty until well after the sun comes up. the next seven miles were a reminder of why i run. i laughed at random thoughts that went through my head. i cried when certain songs reminded me my heart still hurts. and me, myself and i came together to face each other and “talk” through life questions. mile ten came almost too soon and even though the last five were into a bit of a head wind i still managed to keep my average for the run sub-nine ~ a pace i was happy with given my lack of speed as of late.

all in all a good week. right at my desired 25 miles. well only when i throw in the cheat day. but i’m ok with that.

 

Entry filed under: running. Tags: , , , , .

better than sex the perfect storm

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ultrarunnerbrianphilpot  |  April 25, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    I have two girls 10 & 12 does it make me feel old? He’ll No! Am I old? Maybe but I don’t care! Look up girl and run. Some might say you are running from something, but I say I’m running to something!

    Reply
    • 2. becelisa  |  April 26, 2010 at 8:21 am

      i’ve always said i run to run away from my life, but maybe you’re right and i am running to something. i suppose i’ll see when i get there …

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 150 other followers

the best of times

5k pr ~ 24:23
10k pr ~ 52:49
half marathon pr ~ 1:55:10
marathon pr ~ 4:10:41
half ironman pr ~ 5:57:50
50k pr ~ 5:33:23
50-mile pr ~ 11:32:39

Categories

Archives


