taking the plunge

May 9, 2010 at 9:59 am 4 comments

when i read kitkat’s post that she summoned the courage to register for a triathlon, i decided it was time for me to put up or shut up. sometimes i think my over cautious ways have gotten out of control. not that i was ever the crazy dare-devil type but when i was younger i often did before thinking. these days i always think, analyze, re-think and then discard the idea of doing anything that seems outside the comfort zone of rationality. but life is too short to be dictated by fear. there is so much to see. so much to do. and i don’t want to wake up one day with regret.

so i am now registered for the battle at fort de soto triathlon an aug. 21. a 400-meter swim, 11-mile bike and 3.3-mile run. i am so not ready. physically or mentally. my current swimming habits pretty much consist of floating on my back sipping daiquiris. the only biking i’ve done in years was when i was down from the run during my marine corp marathon training. i’ve never “transitioned” in my entire life. and i have a paralyzing fear of open body water swimming that literally gives me mild panic attacks just thinking about. but newB is willing to let me train and race with her very sweet bike. tri-guy is on stand by to coach me on the swim and may even do the race with me. and i am ready ~ sort of ~ to face my fear and prove that i can do whatever i put my mind too.

it’s not going to be easy but i know i won’t be happy with myself if i don’t at least tri

Entry filed under: biking, fear, running, swimming, triathlon. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

the need for speed back on the train

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kitkat1126  |  May 9, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    Yes! You ROCK! You can absolutely do it – I can’t wait to follow your training!

    Reply
    • 2. becelisa  |  May 10, 2010 at 8:58 am

      thanks! you were my kick in the butt to finally do it. maybe we can encourage, suppport and commiserate together along the training path.

      Reply
  • 3. bgirl875  |  May 9, 2010 at 11:49 pm

    I bet the “think before doing” thing comes with mommyhood. I definitely was a lot more fearless before my daughter. But I’m starting to learn to distinguish fear from sensibility. It’s a process 🙂

    So awesome for you. I know you will be amazing!

    Hope you had a great mothers day!

    Reply
    • 4. becelisa  |  May 10, 2010 at 9:03 am

      mommyhood definitely plays a role! but i need to remember that it’s up to me to teach sab how to truly live and not be afraid to take risks and face challenges. and there’s no doubt this is going to be a challenge!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 150 other followers

the best of times

5k pr ~ 24:23
10k pr ~ 52:49
half marathon pr ~ 1:55:10
marathon pr ~ 4:10:41
half ironman pr ~ 5:57:50
50k pr ~ 5:33:23
50-mile pr ~ 11:32:39

Categories

Archives


