back on the train

May 10, 2010 at 8:46 am 4 comments

week of may 2
total mileage 18
asics gt-2150s  miles 359
total 2010 miles 401

sunday off

monday 4 miles ~ bayshore with buns
average 9:30

tuesday off

wednesday 4 miles ~ gymnastics
average 8:37

thursday off

friday off

saturday 10 miles ~ bbs trails
average 9:50

another week of life getting in the way. tuesday was supposed to be miles at four green ~ instead i sat in an empty rental property with no electricity waiting for a handyman and the police. long story of a tenant who skipped out and a kicked in door. thursday i chose long avoided home projects over exercise. and friday was another early morning attempt which just seems so outside my pre-work capability.

saturday was my only redemption and it was an adventure. i dragged buns out to the bbs trails. miles and miles of trails built on old phosphate mines giving the illusion that florida isn’t quite so flat. it’s been well over a year since i’d done them and it wasn’t long before i fell head over heels in love again. woods. hills. mountain bikers. nature. but he wasn’t quite so in awe. hot temps, high humidity and a preference for flat, paved paths, had him hurting by mile four and by six we were alternating with a walk. around mile seven a fork in the road led me to pull out the trail map and determine our direction and i realized that something was amiss. my car key ~ tucked into my water bottle holder pocket along side the map ~ was missing. sheer panic. the zipper on the pocket had been closed so i knew it had to have fallen out the last time i’d glanced at the map which i could only estimate at half a mile or so back. i hoped. as we retraced our steps, buns walked slowly canvassing every inch and i opted for a slow run to cover more ground. i had no idea what we were going to do. no key. phones locked in the car. far from home. our only option was going to be beg a biker for a ride to get my spare key. i was just about to give up when i rounded a twist in the trail and there, right in the middle of the path, was my key. needless to say i can’t imagine it will be any time in the near future that i can coerce buns to run trails again. i must find someone who loves them the same way i do. i belong on trails. no doubt. but simply don’t feel safe running them alone.

though the miles were light, i actually feel good about the week. maybe it was the trails. maybe it was finally registering for my next marathon and the tri. but mentally i felt a reconnect with the run. there’s lots ahead. the midnight run. the tri. chickamauga. maybe even ragnar this year. running just to run has been fun. but i think i’m meant to train. it’s on.

Entry filed under: biking, fear, running, swimming, triathlon. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

taking the plunge learning to let go

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ultrarunnerbrianphilpot  |  May 10, 2010 at 10:49 am

    I allway’s check a 100 time’s to make sure I still have my key’s, I hate that.

    Reply
  • 2. becelisa  |  May 10, 2010 at 1:34 pm

    so do i! which is probably the only reason i even noticed it was missing at all. we had about two miles back to where we parked and had we made it back to the car before i realized it we would have been so screwed!

    Reply
  • 3. kitkat1126  |  May 12, 2010 at 10:14 am

    Losing my keys is one of my biggest fears while running – I actually run holding them because I don’t trust putting them anywhere else!

    That’s so awesome your have trails like that you can run through. I’d love to do trail running like you said I don’t feel safe running them alone. =(

    I may quote you on your last line, I love your mindset!– “running just to run has been fun. but i think i’m meant to train. it’s on.”

    Reply
  • 4. bgirl875  |  May 13, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    I’m so glad I’m not the only one that runs with my keys in hand. It feels awkward running with them in my hand but having a panic attack at the thought that I might have lost them is soooooo much worse. Glad you found them and had an amazing trail run. i gotta try one of those sometime soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 150 other followers

the best of times

5k pr ~ 24:23
10k pr ~ 52:49
half marathon pr ~ 1:55:10
marathon pr ~ 4:10:41
half ironman pr ~ 5:57:50
50k pr ~ 5:33:23
50-mile pr ~ 11:32:39

Categories

Archives


