the blob

June 19, 2010 at 1:53 pm 2 comments

i feel disgusting. where i could have spent the last few weeks working out in other ways, i’ve fully allowed this injury to serve as an excuse to sit on my butt and pout. i’ve been eating poorly. indulging in a little too much vino and now i’m paying for it. the numbers on the scale haven’t creeped up too much ~ though even a couple extra pounds is outside my comfort zone ~ but it’s how i feel. lethargic. blubbery. unhealthy. i forgot how much i hate this feeling. in the last few years i’ve gone from casual exerciser to an athlete and i have no desire to go back to even a semi-sedentary lifestyle.

so sidelined from the run or not, i’ve got to take back some sort of control of my health and habits. elliptical later today. swim too if the weather clears up. farm stand on the way home for fresh stock of fruits and veggies. and from here going forward i’d like to stop just talking about and actually start doing a small morning routine of yogi or pilates. i need the core strength. the muscle stretching. the mental focus. there’s no reason it can’t become a part of my daily routine. and it can only make me a stronger, healthier runner.

Entry filed under: running, swimming. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

it’s my party and i’ll cry if i want to down and out

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. fitandfortysomething  |  June 19, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    Oh I know how you feel! You will get through this for sure 🙂 and I like how you already have a plan. In a matter of days you will feel better for sure.

    Reply
  • 2. kitkat1126  |  June 21, 2010 at 7:50 am

    I hate that feeling! I have found the more I have made exercising part of my routine the faster I feel crappy when I spent time eating and not moving enough. I bet with just a couple of hard workouts you’ll feel better.

    I don’t know how much you enjoy yoga/pilates (I don’t but know I need to add it in) but I just came across this site – seems like an easy/quick addition to each morning: http://www.yogaisyummy.net/?page_id=34

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 150 other followers

the best of times

5k pr ~ 24:23
10k pr ~ 52:49
half marathon pr ~ 1:55:10
marathon pr ~ 4:10:41
half ironman pr ~ 5:57:50
50k pr ~ 5:33:23
50-mile pr ~ 11:32:39

Categories

Archives


