down and out

June 21, 2010 at 10:31 am 3 comments

i tried running. after an argument with my ex husband saturday night that left me consumed by anger (an emotion i rarely fall victim to) i woke sunday morning in desperate need of trails. having gone two days pretty much pain free, i sent SR a text asking for miles. he approved ~ tentatively ~ an easy three. all day the weather threatened to keep me homebound but by late afternoon the skies had worked through most of their fury and i headed to bbs with a friend.

nothing cleanses my soul like trails. i’m not sure if it’s what nature has or what it lacks. maybe it’s because i feel like i’m running towards nothing. no manmade landmarks or you-are-here street signs. i wanted to run hard but knew better so i took a nice easy pace and though i wanted more i stuck to the 3-mile limitation. somewhere on those three miles of dirt and sand i shed the stress. let go of what i could. it takes so little to remind me why i run.

but i knew something was wrong as soon as i got in the car. i’d promised to ice as soon as possible after so i’d brought my ice pack. what should have been a cool relief felt more of a burning sensation. my muscles were screaming and my lower back talked back. almost three weeks down and what i found was more pain and all i could do was cry.

SR says it’s ok. a mild setback we’ll work through. but between the piriformis syndrome and my ex i’m tired of pains in the ass and it’s becoming easier and easier to fall victim to a woe-is-me attitude.

Entry filed under: divorce and co-parenting, fear, injury, relationships, running. Tags: , , , , , .

the blob namaste

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ultrarunnerbrianphilpot  |  June 21, 2010 at 11:52 am

    Boy I know all about it! A good trail run after dealing with the ex-wife is just what the doctor orders, well at least I do! My ex is just on a different road than me, so I shouldn’t be too hard on her. Keep your head up!

    Reply
  • 2. fitandfortysomething  |  June 21, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    i totally agree! nothing feels as cleansing as a good trail run. really glad you did it 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Red  |  June 21, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    I hear you. I feel so much better since I started back exercising. Hang in there, xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 150 other followers

the best of times

5k pr ~ 24:23
10k pr ~ 52:49
half marathon pr ~ 1:55:10
marathon pr ~ 4:10:41
half ironman pr ~ 5:57:50
50k pr ~ 5:33:23
50-mile pr ~ 11:32:39

Categories

Archives


