namaste

June 22, 2010 at 1:53 pm 4 comments

for weeks months i’ve been saying i’m going to get up earlier and start my day with an easy yoga energizer. disregard the fact that i really know very little about doing yoga unless i’m following someone’s directions. or the fact that i’m already out of bed by 5:45 a.m. every morning. or that i suffer frequent and insanity causing bouts of insomnia that make setting the alarm any earlier a threat to what little sleep i already battle for.

but it always seemed a good idea. yoga for runners can be extremely beneficial. especially for those of us who admit to slacking on the stretching and core work that is so essential to minimizing the risk of injury (if only i’d  listened!) and how could starting out the day with a physically and mentally soothing exercise regime ever be a negative. even if it means a little less restlessness. chances are i’m awake anyway! and there have been a couple of yoga dvds sitting in my entertainment center for quite sometime now.

for the last few days i’ve set my alarm. good intentions that didn’t seem quite as fun at 4:45 a.m. but this morning ~ after hitting the snooze button firmly and yanking a pillow up over my head ~ i reminded myself that my body and mind need help right now. without the run neither feel in control. and maybe, just maybe, i’d feel better if i dragged my stiff, achy, sorry behind out of bed. and so i did.

it wasn’t pretty. the first dvd apparently had a little too much damage ~ or dust ~ and kept skipping. and i never really “bonded” with the yogi in the other. i improvised a little. fast-forwarded here and there. but when all was said and done, i felt refreshed. even before having coffee! my ensuing morning routine of trying to get me and a 10-year-old out of the house didn’t seem quite as stressed and frantic. and i think i only cursed one driver on the way to work ~ a vast improvement on my typical highway commute to the office.

i can’t guarantee there won’t be mornings where i simply can’t ~ or won’t ~ do it. be it out of exhaustion from lack of sleep or an ambien induced comatose state of mind. but on those other mornings. the ones where there are no valid excuses, i hope to make this a part of my routine.

Entry filed under: injury, running. Tags: , , , .

down and out chiro-quack-tor

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kitkat1126  |  June 23, 2010 at 6:36 am

    4:45am?! You are AMAZING! I’m not going to lie getting up anytime before 6 (even 5:55am) is a battle for me.

    a couple of friends have tried to convince me that the right type yoga will stretch you and get your heart rate going enough so it feels like cardio. plus gives you incredible strength training. not sure how true that is. (did you feel that at all?)

    You made a great point about stretching and core work…you possibly influenced me to give it another try. I don’t know what it is about yoga that deters me, but i’d take any kind of cardio over it any day.

    Reply
    • 2. becelisa  |  June 23, 2010 at 7:27 am

      i’m a cardio girl myself. i’m definitely happiest when sweating and can feel my heart pumping! i would never be able to use yoga as a replacement but given where i am with injuries and the fact that i know i don’t stretch enough and have lost a lot of my flexibility, i think it’s imperative for me to try to add it to my routine. i will say though that i do love bikram yoga (aka hot yoga). but i certainly can’t do that in my own living room at 4:45 a.m.

      and for the record … after a restless night of sleep, this morning the snooze button won 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. gr4c5  |  June 23, 2010 at 9:22 am

    my advice (not that you asked)? google yoga for runners and concentrate on the poses recommended. It’s the quick and dirty way of getting the most out of the practice.
    keep in mind, yoga is not just about flexibility – there are strength benefits as well…I mean, have you seen someone’s arms when they are in crow pose?! 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. becelisa  |  June 23, 2010 at 2:37 pm

      your advice (whether asked for or not) is always welcome! and i definitely see the strength benefits of yoga. hell look at madonna’s body! i’d kill to look like that!!! i just love my cardio. scratch that. i love my running and need it back soon. actually saw a chiropractor today who had a different verdict. going to write about it later and you can weigh in with solicited advice and opinions on that post 😉

      xoxo

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 150 other followers

the best of times

5k pr ~ 24:23
10k pr ~ 52:49
half marathon pr ~ 1:55:10
marathon pr ~ 4:10:41
half ironman pr ~ 5:57:50
50k pr ~ 5:33:23
50-mile pr ~ 11:32:39

Categories

Archives


