while i was sleeping

July 19, 2010 at 2:23 pm 6 comments

it’s with a heavy heart that i must admit to myself that the tri is not going to happen for me. the chiro decided it was time to do an mri and really figure what was going on with my body. i was hoping for a clean scan. hell at this point even a muscle tear would have been preferential. because what i learned was far from what i expected. i have a congenital spinal condition called grade 1 spondylolisthesis. essentially my lowest lumbar is shifted forward 4mm. it’s almost certain i was born this way ~ apparently about 5-7 percent of the population is including, i’ve since learned, my mother and older brother ~ but it’s a condition that typically lies asymptomatic. though not always.

running with a spondy ~ as it’s so nicknamed ~ is not good. from what i’ve read online it won’t worsen the condition but it can exacerbate the symptoms. some people run and have no pain. others find the aftermath unbearable. thankfully my slippage is very low grade but even minimal can cause sciatic pain. the condition is not treatable ~ fixable only with spinal fusion surgery which is not necessary nor advised at my low grade slippage ~ but the symptoms are possibly treatable and may go back to their dormant state in time. but there is no way i will be doing the tri and even my november marathon is questionable at this point.

at this point i’m scared. i’m trying not to completely break down until my ortho sees the films and gives me a second opinion. i like to think there’s a possibility my spondy still lies sleeping and this really is nothing more than an out of whack SI joint or lingering piriformis syndrome. i’m willing and able to take months down if needed. but i’m not willing to go quietly to a life without my run.

Entry filed under: fear, injury, running, triathlon. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

getting what i want opinionated

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kalli@fitandfortysomething  |  July 19, 2010 at 6:08 pm

    oh jeez…..i am so sorry to hear this! please let me know what else you hear. you can get through it -i promise!

    Reply
    • 2. becelisa  |  July 20, 2010 at 7:36 am

      thanks kalli. i’ve got PT today and will drop the films with my ortho for him to review. i’ll keep you updated.

      Reply
  • 3. kitkat1126  |  July 19, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    Ugh, I really truly hope it’s just and out of whack SI joint. I’m thinking positive thoughts for you and somehow this too shall pass.

    Reply
    • 4. becelisa  |  July 20, 2010 at 7:41 am

      last night i vividly dreamed that it was just my SI joint. that and that the sciatic pain i get in my butt was nothing more than a very large snapping turtle that bit me right on the ass cheek and wouldn’t let go. lol! gotta’ love the way the subconcious mind works.

      Reply
  • 5. bgirl875  |  July 19, 2010 at 10:12 pm

    Wow! just checking in on all your post. You’ve been busy girl.

    This news is sucky and I am definitely hoping for the best because you STILL owe me a DC run =}

    But my instinct tells me you are too strong to not fully recover from whatever SPECIFICALLY is ailing you. And you will be running again in no time!

    But I’ll keep my toes crossed for you just in case!

    Reply
  • 6. becelisa  |  July 20, 2010 at 7:43 am

    i basically spent the weekend wallowing in self pity completely depressed and angry but i woke up this morning ready to take on whatever i have to do and push through it. and yes, i do still owe you that DC run and we will do it soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 150 other followers

the best of times

5k pr ~ 24:23
10k pr ~ 52:49
half marathon pr ~ 1:55:10
marathon pr ~ 4:10:41
half ironman pr ~ 5:57:50
50k pr ~ 5:33:23
50-mile pr ~ 11:32:39

Categories

Archives


