opinionated

July 21, 2010 at 9:15 pm 3 comments

i’m exhausted ~ likely emotionally drained after the last few days ~ but before i head to bed i just had to share the good (in the grand scheme of things) news. i managed to get a last minute appointment with my ortho. normally it’s a week or two wait but i think the girl saw the fear in my eyes when i came toting mri films up to the desk after a PT session down the hall. she seemed a little put out at first. i mean how DARE i approach her domain without an appointment. but my mom always tought me i can “kill more bees with honey” and after a little small talk and joking around she had me on the schedule within two hours.

i hate that different doctors have varying opinions. i hate not knowing first hand what’s true and what’s an educated guess. the medical world has no more defined black and white answers than the rest of the world and grey area is not an easy concept for my to accept. but something in the way dr H looked at me when he spoke told me there was no sugar-coated bull shit aimed at making me feel better. here’s his take on the mri results.

yes, i have a spondylolisthesis. this the mri results show. is he concerned? …. not at all! and here’s why not:

a grade 1 spondy is 25% slippage and under. quite a range isn’t it? apparently i’m on the low end of that range. the chiro failed to mention that.

excessive testing has shown that congenital spondys stay asymptomatic. not just a few tests. and not just a small majority. it’s almost a certainty this thing isn’t the root of my pain.

but even if mine has become symptomatic, it is just that  ~ symptoms. and much like any other injury there’s no need to think that symptoms can’t be targeted, treated and diminished.

he maintains my issues are SI joint and piriformis related. keep up the PT stretches. ice. heat. rest. advil.

it’s good we know the spondy is there. i’m now limited on yoga ~ no positions that arch my back excessively. no breast stroke or butterfly (not that i can do the butterfly anyway!) because of the lower back position. even DWR is questionable unless i can maintain a strong posture. and there’s added importance to increase my core strength (damn why didn’t i start doing those nightly sit ups like i planned to start years ago). still no run. the tri is out. but i knew that. but chickamauga is hopeful. as is a long future of marathon running.

i hate that my physical health right now is based on opinions. one says this. one says that. stop running for good. keep up that cardio for the next marathon. but here’s the thing. this isn’t just my physical health we’re talking about. this is about a part of my soul. my sanity. my release. a defining part of me, myself and i. and nothing. or no one. will stop me from doing anything and everything to be back on the run soon. pain is temporary. quitting is forever. and i will never quit.

Entry filed under: biking, fear, injury, running, swimming, triathlon. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

while i was sleeping the green mile

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. fitandfortysomething  |  July 21, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    This is good news!

    Reply
  • 2. kitkat1126  |  July 22, 2010 at 7:11 am

    I’m so glad to hear it isn’t the spondy. while I’m sure it’s almost unbearable to rest for some time and give up cardio you’re right in thinking this pain is temporary – you do have a long future of marathon running ahead of you!

    Reply
  • 3. ultrarunnerbrianphilpot  |  July 24, 2010 at 7:17 pm

    Hope you can better soon, nobody likes that down time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 150 other followers

the best of times

5k pr ~ 24:23
10k pr ~ 52:49
half marathon pr ~ 1:55:10
marathon pr ~ 4:10:41
half ironman pr ~ 5:57:50
50k pr ~ 5:33:23
50-mile pr ~ 11:32:39

Categories

Archives


