the green mile

July 29, 2010 at 7:43 am 4 comments

there’s no escaping. i’m surrounded. the stories on here are full of miles run and trails conquered. my facebook homepage is inundated with status updates about summer 5ks, fall marathons and getting ragnar ready. lunch time runners on campus have led me to pull the office blinds tight. the envy has slowly consumed me and i find myself loathing the run i can’t have. it should be mine. all mine. and if i can’t have it, why can they?

i know that’s the wrong attitude. i love my running friends. the bond formed by the passion we share for each footfall along a sidewalk or tree-lined path. i don’t hate them because they can run. i simply hate that i can’t. but hiding their words and shutting out their success only brings me darker hours. i’m better to run a mile in their shoes then not run at all.

Entry filed under: fear, injury, life, running. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

opinionated you spin me right round

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kitkat1126  |  July 29, 2010 at 9:17 am

    I wish I could say some magic positive words to make the situation better. But flat out, it sucks and I’m sorry.

    BUT, you’re right to keep reading/in contact with runners. It will keep you motivated (on most days) and make you remember – you WILL be there again soon.

    I bet the spin classes will at least help you release cardio energy and keep your endurance up until you’re back to full-force running. You’ll get there!!

    Reply
  • 2. fitandfortysomething  |  July 29, 2010 at 9:18 am

    oh i know it is hard for you love……this too will pass

    Reply
  • 3. gr4c5  |  July 30, 2010 at 9:11 am

    holy crap you sound like me two years ago (almost to the day)! I’ll post my rant tomorrow so you can have a good laugh at my expense. xoxox

    Reply
  • 4. ultrarunnerbrianphilpot  |  August 1, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    It sucks that’s for sure! Let’s just say, when you do come back you will be better and stronger runner! Keep your head up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 150 other followers

the best of times

5k pr ~ 24:23
10k pr ~ 52:49
half marathon pr ~ 1:55:10
marathon pr ~ 4:10:41
half ironman pr ~ 5:57:50
50k pr ~ 5:33:23
50-mile pr ~ 11:32:39

Categories

Archives


