my new feet

August 25, 2010 at 2:14 pm 2 comments

insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results ~ albert einstein

after another couple of weeks of feeling better but not. the same but different. broken but not defeated. i knew i needed to try something new. a friend of a friend is an LMT. yes, i know i’ve already gone the massage route. but she’s different. she’s an athlete who uses a multi-demension approach to “realign. reeducate. and rebuild.” i’ve met her a few times and always had a great respect for her strength; physical and spiritual. and at this point i need to understand my body not just react to it.

so yesterday i went to see her. the first thing we did was simply stand in front of a mirror and before she even spoke the words i was drawn instantly to my legs ~ and not just because they’re sexy 😉  ~ but because it only took a second to see that my right calf was considerably smaller than the left indicating an obvious problem.  she looked at my stance. the way my foot sits on the ground. my posture. my balance (which by the way, sucks!) she did deep tissue massage and watched the way i move my feet. she even looked at the way my big toe bends backwards ~ or in the case of my right side, doesn’t really bend back much at all which could affect the way my foot comes off the ground which could lead to the way my ankle supports my leg which could lead to my calf over working which could lead to … well you get the point.

The toe bone connected to the heel bone,
The heel bone connected to the foot bone,
The foot bone connected to the leg bone,
The leg bone connected to the knee bone,
The knee bone connected to the thigh bone,
The thigh bone connected to the back bone …
dem bones, dem bones!

basically my entire right side ~ waist to toe ~ isn’t functioning right. did it start at the foot and lead up to the back (my ankle problems last year suggest this might be the case) or did it start at the back and work its way down? the answer is likely as simple as which came first the chicken or the egg. but either way i have to retrain my body so my muscles work together not against each other. and we’re starting at the bottom ~ with my feet. she gave me a new way to stand. a weight shift. wants me doing small exercises with my feet to re-teach them where they belong. “new feet”, she said. before leaving she told me she wouldn’t be opposed to me going home and trying a run on my new feet. or even just a walk to use them. think about them. train them.

i was hesitant to try a run knowing my penchant for ignoring pain and pushing too hard. so i leashed up the dog. she has a condition that doesn’t allow her to go far or fast in heat and humidity so i knew taking her would keep me in check. the goal was the neighborhood park ~ three quarters of a mile away ~ and back for a mile and a half. not a full run. walk breaks would let me focus on my form and take a mental assessment of how i felt.

it was ok. i felt a little awkward. there was no rhythm. but i have to start somewhere. there was pain in the hip. back. butt. everywhere. but not unbearable and the walk breaks helped calm it down. about a quarter of a mile from home i did something strange. i took off my shoes. over the last year or so i’ve toyed with the idea of bfr (barefoot running). i know a couple people who have recently made the switch and swear by it. and where i used to think the vibram five fingers were the most ridiculous looking things in the world, i now find them strangely alluring. but most of all i know that bfr makes you pay much more attention to form and foot fall. i’m not sure really what i made of it. i don’t foresee myself becoming a fulltime barefoot runner. maybe if i lived by trails. could feel dirt and leaves under foot instead of pavement. but it really did make me pay attention to how the foot fell and how i came off the step through my toes.

i go back to see her again next week and maybe ~ if i’ve learned to use my new feet right ~ i’ll get “new ankles”. i don’t suppose if we keep working our way up i’ll eventually get new boobs 😉

Entry filed under: fear, injury, life, running, swimming, triathlon. Tags: , , , , , .

a hard measure l-o-l-a lola!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Floyd  |  August 25, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    I have always been a bi bearfoot fan. But mostly that was in my youth… today I am recovering from a bout of planters facia developed as my 40 something self performed a bearfoot day of sillyness. Sounds like yourLMT is on target though…

    Reply
  • 2. kitkat1126  |  August 26, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    Someone else I know was just talking about barefoot running and how it helps people realize their form and lessens impact on all joints. I used to think it was nutty but the more I hear about it and the more I research it makes sense. When I run in sneakers I land on my heel so often, but barefoot I fall on the padding on my foot.

    I think anything is worth a try and it sounds like this LMT is helpful so I hope to hear about your new ankles next week!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 150 other followers

the best of times

5k pr ~ 24:23
10k pr ~ 52:49
half marathon pr ~ 1:55:10
marathon pr ~ 4:10:41
half ironman pr ~ 5:57:50
50k pr ~ 5:33:23
50-mile pr ~ 11:32:39

Categories

Archives


