sometimes the apple does fall far

December 21, 2010 at 10:25 pm 7 comments

all it takes is a few days with my mom for me to realize just how drastically different we are. i love her. very much. but i really don’t think there is anyone i have a harder time being around in close quarters. where she’s a little disheveled, i’m a little anal retentive (yes both of those are understatements!) her primary ingredient in cooking is butter, i fear the stuff. she has to stop, chit chat and share her life story with everyone she meets, i move a little faster through life. she goes with the flow, i have a plan.  i look at us together and i have to laugh ~ possibly to keep from screaming ~ because i can’t even begin to fathom how i’m me after growing up with her. or maybe it’s completely obvious that i had to turn out this way to survive her. let’s demonstrate in pictures, here’s my sink in the hotel …

 

 

 

 

 

 

here’s hers …

 

 

 

 

 

 

need i say more?

Entry filed under: family, life, parenting, relationships. Tags: , , , .

routine reminiscing fact or fiction

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kitkat1126  |  December 21, 2010 at 11:11 pm

    Haha wow, those two pictures said it all.

    Reply
    • 2. becelisa  |  December 21, 2010 at 11:20 pm

      and i promise that they were in no way altered prior to simply sending my daughter to take pictures in stealth mode!in fact i was a little worried my bathroom wasn’t quite clean enough after getting ready for dinner.

      Reply
  • 3. kloppenmum  |  December 21, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    It’s great that you can see past the differences you have – and judging from your pictures, I’d say there’s a few. Thanks for making me chuckle.

    Reply
  • 4. Tracie  |  December 25, 2010 at 10:13 am

    That is funny…I think it is because u wanted a change from that as a kid!

    Reply
  • 5. Bgirl875  |  December 28, 2010 at 1:55 am

    Lol! This actually reminds me less of me and my momma and more of me and my daughter. She is soooo going to write a post about me like this 10 years from now. This is just more proof that it was meant for us all to move away from our parents once we become adults. Could you imagine if this was permanent?!? Argghhhhh!!! Lol!

    Reply
    • 6. becelisa  |  December 29, 2010 at 9:18 am

      oh my god no! two weeks together was MORE than enough. thing is i fully understand that i drive her as crazy as she drives me. and i respect her right to be “cluttered”. i did ok when we were on vacation and in a hotel but once we got back to my house i about lost my mind. but i still love her ❤

      Reply
  • 7. decompression « becelisa  |  June 13, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    […] June 2, 2011 this past weekend ~ thursday through monday morning actually ~ my mother was in town. i think we’ve been through how different she and i are a few times in this blog but if you need a visual read this. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 150 other followers

the best of times

5k pr ~ 24:23
10k pr ~ 52:49
half marathon pr ~ 1:55:10
marathon pr ~ 4:10:41
half ironman pr ~ 5:57:50
50k pr ~ 5:33:23
50-mile pr ~ 11:32:39

Categories

Archives


