week of march 14 ~ spring into summer

March 21, 2011 at 1:32 pm 3 comments

week of march 14
run
19 ~ all untimed due to a broken garmin strap
bike 0

monday off
tuesday
off
wednesday 4 miles ~ lake loop (half with buns, half alone)
thursday 5 miles ~ gornto loop with me, myself and i
friday
off
saturday
10 miles ~ tc trails with b3
sunday
off

weekly total miles 19
2011 total miles
209

asics gel landreth 6 72

why is it that anything under 20 miles seems like a bust of a week? not to mention only three days of just the run. no pilates. no bike. no weights. in my defense i’ve had a lot going on the past couple of weeks with trying to rent my house and start packing but i still beat myself up over the self-perceived laziness. i could have gone to pilates monday but chose dinner with a girlfriend and our kids instead. i could have hit the tread as planned tuesday but had to rescue that same friend when she locked herself out of her house (i have her spare key) and she thanked me with a strong drink and the girl talk we hadn’t been able to finish monday due to little ears listening to our every word. friday is my typical down day and sunday was simply a i-don’t-feel-like-doing-anything kind of day!

what made things feel worse is that not a single one of my runs felt strong. i’ve been unusually fatigued. saturday i was ready to call it quits after four miles but somehow managed to push through 10. i have no idea what my pace was at all this week ~ my garmin wristband broke and i have yet to order another ~ but i can pretty much assume that there wasn’t an impressive bout of speed or stamina in a single mile i ran. maybe it’s the increasing heat (though saturday morning was nice and cool). typical to florida we seem to be skipping right over spring and into summer and i don’t fare well in warmer weather. B3 also suggested an iron issue which actually could be spot on. i’ve been prone to anemia my whole life and typically take the gnc women’s ultra mega as a daily supplement but i’ve been out for awhile now. factor in that i hardly ever eat red meat and that my typical almost daily spinach salads have been nil as of late and chances are i’m a little on the deficient side.

on the pain front, this week was also a bit of a downer. wednesday afternoon i had an appointment with LJ and she beat the crap out of me! i’ve got the bruises to prove it! deep tissue work that hurt like hell yet felt so good. i don’t understand why we can’t make this stuff just go away? why is every muscle waist down on my right side so angry at me? what more can i do to make them like me again? that night i ran without the pci insole since i’ve been blistering on the lower ball of my right foot and thursday i woke up feeling more off kilter than i have in awhile. not sure if it was running so soon after the massage or the lack of the insole but needless to say i put them back in thursday. it helped ~ i think ~ but i can feel the hot spot on my foot when i run and know that any decent mileage is going to result in a nasty blister.

so going forward … first step is to get my vitamin intake and nutrition back on track. second is to make certain the insoles are trimmed to the exact right specs for my feet and shoes. and ~ the fun stuff ~ the chiro has not just finally approved but instructed me to start converting some of my mileage to my long neglected vibrams. trails or tread only. for pavement i need to entertain newtons but i’m not sure another new pair of shoes is in my budget right now.

as for actual training, i’ve got another couple weeks of decent mileage. croom 16-mile trail race on april 9. then with any luck, my first tri on may 22. after that i am cutting back the mileage. for real this time! three days of run ~ nothing more! long run 8-10 max. focus on strength training. stretching. balance. all in hopes of appeasing the angry muscle gods. june, july, august. summer vacation. no races. no goals. and then … whole or not … back to the grind. i’ve narrowed down the winter playing field ~ las vegas marathon dec 4 or kiawah island dec 10. and mark my words right now … i am going sub 4.

Entry filed under: biking, exercise, fear, injury, life, running, swimming, triathlon. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

changing faces escape from alcatraz

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kitkat1126  |  March 21, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    Sometimes during those stressful weeks (and you DO have a ton going on) you just need that time off – be it with friends or just a down day – but that kind of time off is good for you. Don’t beat yourself up for it. If anything I’d say try to schedule that kind of time in more often.

    You know I’m rooting for you – especially for your upcoming tri!!!

    Reply
  • 2. runandcook  |  March 21, 2011 at 3:25 pm

    You know as well as anyone else that you can’t have a good week every single week… so boom, you got your not-so-good one. Did you realize that you still ran a 10 miler? And 6 more than you wanted to on that day. I would check your iron for the fatigue and other reasons you stated… and do not get sad about this!! You are a tough cookie AND you will bounce back here 🙂

    Reply
    • 3. becelisa  |  March 28, 2011 at 11:39 am

      thanks. sometimes i truly am my own worst enemy. i’m never good enough for myself. but truth is i do take on a lot and i’ve got to start giving myself more credit.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 150 other followers

the best of times

5k pr ~ 24:23
10k pr ~ 52:49
half marathon pr ~ 1:55:10
marathon pr ~ 4:10:41
half ironman pr ~ 5:57:50
50k pr ~ 5:33:23
50-mile pr ~ 11:32:39

Categories

Archives


