broken

October 8, 2012 at 5:27 pm 3 comments

the morning after augusta i woke up with severe pain along the outside of my right foot. while running i had felt my ankle tendinitis flare up and i knew i was compensating and weight baring on the outside of the foot but i never felt any actual pain. so the severity of it came as a bit of a surprise that next day but given how great the rest of my body felt i figured it was only normal something hurt. tuesday it felt worse. thankfully my coworkers know i’m nuts so it was no biggie that i spent most of the day in the office barefoot. wednesday my focus changed. the pain of a broken heart masked anything and everything else then thursday i went to see the yankee who was convinced that it was joint fixation. he worked on it and sent me home with a prescribed couple days of rest to heal the foot then a run to heal the heart.

so yesterday morning i planned a run with the governor. she was coming my way, just in case i had issues. she needed to do ten and i wanted five so plan was for her to start early then knock on my door for me to join her for the rest. but saturday night was heart wrenching. the hunter at my door and ~ self-weakness admitted ~ in my bed. and sunday morning i very rationally told him that he was not to contact me again until he knew what he wanted. so when the governor pulled into my driveway i eagerly opted for the 10 miles of therapy.

it felt ok. at first. but then it hit and by mile nine i knew i was done. we had to walk it back in. something i have never had to do. i managed to get an appointment this morning and my fears were confirmed. stress fracture in the foot.

das boot

broken heart meet broken foot. fuck my life.

Entry filed under: exercise, fear, injury, relationships, running. Tags: , , , , , .

i’m all out of love how long must i weight

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. pmonday  |  October 8, 2012 at 5:45 pm

    At least you get a cast for the one 😉

    Reply
  • 2. kitkat1126  |  October 11, 2012 at 2:50 pm

    Ugh. I want to be cheery for you on this post but this f*ing sucks. I’m sorry. I will say, do as many upper body workouts as you can to keep you mentally sane (can you swim?), and spend as much time as your can with your friends (happy hour!) and daughter. And when it gets bad, just relive Augusta and how amazing that felt and remember you *will* feel that again.

    Reply
    • 3. becelisa  |  October 12, 2012 at 9:09 am

      nothing but seated upper body work for two weeks then i can get in the pool. i’m trying to be so good. even heeded the doctor’s suggestion that crutches wouldn’t be a bad idea in addition to the boot. the timing just really sucks. running is my therapy and no doubt i could use it right now 😦

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 150 other followers

the best of times

5k pr ~ 24:23
10k pr ~ 52:49
half marathon pr ~ 1:55:10
marathon pr ~ 4:10:41
half ironman pr ~ 5:57:50
50k pr ~ 5:33:23
50-mile pr ~ 11:32:39

Categories

Archives


