march madness

April 15, 2013 at 2:02 pm 3 comments

i just realized i never posted march mileage. my total was 120 and that was with the last week of the month yielding a big old zero as i tried to recover for croom. that puts my total for the first three months of the year at 392. still averaging well above what i need for the 1,000+ mile year that has always eluded me. and it’s a good thing i’ve got those extra miles in the bank because, sadly, april is going to be low. in fact my total mileage may end up being 50 ~ but all in one day so i’m still claiming bad ass status 🙂

my knee is in pretty rough shape. knees actually. though the left is far worse. they are a little better each day but i can’t even walk without pain so there is no way i am trying to run so much as a step. the yankee feels i’m dealing with pretty basic but severe chondromalacia also known simply as runner’s knee and he’s guessing on about four weeks down. treatment is going to be lots of massage and ultrasound which already helped to a tremendous degree. prior to my first appointment i couldn’t sit down or stand up without using my arms. but by the time he got done with me, i no longer had to wait on the handicapped stall at work! baby steps.

it sucks but i fully expected this so i’m taking it pretty well. so far. give it another week or two and i may be a total bitch but for now i’m ok. in fact i even switched gyms so i could start going with red during lunch. went today and did the limited upper-body workout i’m approved to do. it was frustrating not being able to do more. but the limited time of lunch “hour” helped keep me in check. and my arms feel like total jello already which means i hit it hard and strong! or maybe just that i’m one of “those runners” that neglects every other part of my body and i’m a total weak ass!

 

 

Entry filed under: running. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

croom foolishness ~ a 50 mile recap call me maybe

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gr4c5  |  April 16, 2013 at 7:15 am

    I have a really cool yoga sequence that is specific to hip and knee recovery. Let me know if you need it 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. becelisa  |  April 16, 2013 at 8:08 am

      yes please!

      Reply
      • 3. gr4c5  |  April 16, 2013 at 12:54 pm

        I’ll scan it when I get home. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 150 other followers

the best of times

5k pr ~ 24:23
10k pr ~ 52:49
half marathon pr ~ 1:55:10
marathon pr ~ 4:10:41
half ironman pr ~ 5:57:50
50k pr ~ 5:33:23
50-mile pr ~ 11:32:39

Categories

Archives


