two is better than one

July 18, 2013 at 5:44 pm 1 comment

the hunter texted me the other night. no doubt looking for a bootie call but masked by the simple question of “did you ever find your romeo?” i wanted to reply with a semi-skewed truth. “i found a sugar daddy and a boy toy. who’s got the time or need for romeo!” but instead i took the high road and simply didn’t reply at all. it didn’t make me sad. i’m done missing him. but it did get me thinking.

i’ve been spending more time with the pilot these days. and a little less time with someone else. older. younger. wealthy. broke. conservative. carefree. between work, parenting, marathon training and the best of both worlds, i have no time to even entertain the possibility of something real. part of me says good riddance. love is overrated and not my style. i enjoy my freedom and independence and am not one to be tamed. but sometimes i wonder why i continue to fill the voids with nothing serious. because truth be told, a part of me does want to find my happily ever after. i think.

maybe it’s just the timing. maybe this is exactly what i need to fill the crevasses of free time i leave on my plate. and i always said i needed a guy who was a little bit of a contradiction in terms. classy and educated on one hand. wild and crazy on the other. so if i can’t find one that fits the mold, maybe two will have to do.

but the hunter’s question did make me wonder. oh romeo oh romeo. where for art thou? because surely if a woman like me exists, a man that has it all must as well.

Entry filed under: 40-something single, dating, relationships. Tags: , , , .

mcm training week one once hidden

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Miss Mile High  |  July 18, 2013 at 7:42 pm

    I hesitate to say this only because I don’t want to downplay my love for my fiancé, BUT as much as I love him and have no doubt that we’re great for each other, I also know beyond a shadow of a doubt that if for some reason something major were to happen that caused us to not be together – I 100% would stay single. Having someone around is awesome. Having someone who loves you unconditionally (while you do the same or try to, anyway) is also awesome. But having been single for a long ass time (for the most part the 7 years since my divorce and well into my 30s) means I had totally adapted to my own way of doing things and my own life and my own rules. And since I’m most certainly always right, adjusting to someone else’s wrong ways of doing things is so damn hard. So hard that I don’t think I’d do it again.

    How fucked up does that sound!?

    Seriously, though. I totally love him and want to be with him. But if I had to do it again I can’t say I would. I’d stay without vulnerability. I’d avoid intimacy. I’d be totally content with pleasure in the moment over deep feelings in the long run. It’s much easier. And I’m really good at easy, not so much the rest.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 150 other followers

the best of times

5k pr ~ 24:23
10k pr ~ 52:49
half marathon pr ~ 1:55:10
marathon pr ~ 4:10:41
half ironman pr ~ 5:57:50
50k pr ~ 5:33:23
50-mile pr ~ 11:32:39

Categories

Archives


