100 percent nuts

July 11, 2014 at 11:01 am 5 comments

back in december i paced the dillo at ancient oaks ~ his first hundred. i was 50k training and had a pretty solid base of mileage so i was able to run 42 miles with him. i could have done more. physically. but mentally i was wavering and given i was there to provide support not require it, i tapped out. but i was surprised at how easily i did 42 ~ my second longest run ever.

i’ve always said that if i ever claimed to want to do a hundred, someone needed to have me committed. not just is it seriously insane  to consider but the time commitment for that kind of training is extreme! but pacing gave me the itch and i started looking at options.

i have this weird preference when reaching for certain challenges. though some want to be surrounded by familiar places and faces. i opt to go elsewhere. so i wanted a race far from home but close enough to drive. and knowing my strengths and weaknesses i knew i needed cold weather and a flat course. i researched and read and found what i felt to be the perfect race. i lined up the dillo and a couple others as pacers. and i waited for registration to open. and waited. and waited. an email to the RD in april said a couple weeks. so i waited. and waited. another email early june went unanswered.

a part of me decided it was a sign. i’m not ready for this shit. 100 miles?? no way. one 50 miler and three 50ks by no means suggests i can run 100. but i kept researching and looking closer to home. and there was only one race that made sense. cold weather likely. flat. familiar. i ran the 100 furlong out there this past year. and supported runners until the cold numbed my body and sent me retreating home to my warm bed. so the other day i did it. in a moment of sheer insanity i registered for the long haul 100 miler on jan. 17, 2015.

that gives me six months. for the 24-week training plan i’m looking at, that’s plenty of time especially given my base mileage. but it’s not so much the time and distance i’m worried about. it’s the mindset. the belief. the self-confidence that i can do this. i’m faced with the challenge that in choosing this race i lose my pacers. they are all running it. and the importance of having the right support is so essential. but staying close to home means mini-me will be able to crew and other nonrunner friends ~ yes i have a few ~ can come cheer. though with a 20-mile out and back loop they won’t have a whole lot of opportunity to do so.

so after moon over croom this weekend i’ll take three weeks easy. and then life as i know it changes for 24-weeks of training ~ both physical and mental. a journey of 100 miles begins with a single-step … or a momentary lapse of sanity!

 

Entry filed under: racing, running, training, ultra marathon. Tags: , , , , , , .

catching up by the light of the moon

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kitkat1126  |  July 11, 2014 at 11:13 am

    oh my God. I am incredibly proud and in awe of you… even if part of me wants to say your bat $hit crazy lady!!! But I think this is the most amazing challenge you have – mentally and physically – and while I have no doubt you will kill it, I can’t wait to read all through your training, the ups and downs, the learning moments and most of all, the recap when you finish 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. becelisa  |  July 11, 2014 at 1:53 pm

      go right ahead and say it. i will be the first to admit i’m bat shit crazy! Lol. i just hope i haven’t gone too far this time!!

      Reply
  • 3. Run Colby Run  |  July 11, 2014 at 1:49 pm

    Bravo! I’m in awe. I recently signed up for my first 50K and am trying to harness my own belief that I can do it. I think I’ve grabbed it by the tail….let’s see if I can hang on. Loved your post and look forward to your journey!

    Reply
    • 4. becelisa  |  July 11, 2014 at 1:57 pm

      awesome! the 50k distance is probably my favorite. i’ve definitely found that the most important factor of ultra running is belief in one’s self. if you’ve got that already then you’re in great shape!

      Reply
      • 5. Run Colby Run  |  July 11, 2014 at 2:00 pm

        I’m trying to hang on to it! Training so far {BANGS on wood} is going well. I’m really starting to look forward to it. You know, in that nervous hysterical way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 150 other followers

the best of times

5k pr ~ 24:23
10k pr ~ 52:49
half marathon pr ~ 1:55:10
marathon pr ~ 4:10:41
half ironman pr ~ 5:57:50
50k pr ~ 5:33:23
50-mile pr ~ 11:32:39

Categories

Archives


