oh captain, my captain

August 16, 2014 at 6:11 am 4 comments

all he told me was to be at the marina on my island at 7 p.m. that he would be the guy in the little white boat waving. i’d met him the weekend before but under circumstances that hadn’t allowed for me to really take in all of him and as i stood on the dock watching the boat near, i caught my breath on the moment. his dark salt and peppered hair and goatee scruff. the sun-kissed skin and solid build. he had on dark shorts and a light gray short sleeved button up. sunglasses and bare feet and he sat at the helm with an air of confidence and comfort that clearly reflected the water as his domain.

he helped me into the boat where a cold titos and soda was waiting and a favorite song was playing. over the week he’d asked my preferences on little details that were all coming together for the first date perfect. but the plan for the perfect date, he said, is that there is no plan. we would just go and see where we ended up. the weather had threatened storms all day but somehow the skies had cleared and the water had calmed. we simply boated and talked. laughed and learned while we watched dolphin frolic in our wake. he’s everything i am. a contradiction in terms so to speak. outdoorsy and tough on one hand. educated and cultured on the other and there was a comfort and ease that made it seem as though we were far beyond a first date. when his arm draped around my shoulder it felt right.

an hour or so later he admitted to the 9 p.m. dinner reservation he had made. it was plan B, he said. or maybe plan A since the original plan was no plan at all. but as we headed that way with the thought to go early, we detoured back to the un-plan and docked at the pavilion for a drink. people watching. more laughter. it was so easy. exactly what a first date should be. we weren’t there long. we were both hungry. but before getting back on the boat i made a quick stop at the ladies room and he waited by the water. from behind my sunglasses i watched him as he watched me walk back down toward him. his eyes not missing a single step. and as soon as i was close enough he gently wrapped his arms around my waist and softly kissed my lips.

we made it to dinner right on time for our reservation. a place i’d never been but had more than wanted to try. and as expected it was amazing. shared crab cakes. grilled salmon over quinoa for me. a rare tuna steak for him. we talked running and his desire to start again. a recent planned marathon missed due to life’s chaos. we shared family tales and corporate stories. but as fabulous as the food and ambiance were, we couldn’t wait to get back out on the water. to escape the confines of a table and the surrounding crowds.

i’m always dumbfounded by the quiet of the river. the waste of the city and the lack of what could be an amazing waterfront nightlife. we didn’t so much as see a single other boat. but that night i wasn’t complaining. the river was all ours. we docked at rick’s. a casual fun waterfront bar and found a table. but not two minutes later we just looked at each other and almost simultaneously suggested leaving. our private water oasis was far better.

we spent another hour or so on the water before docking back at the island. he went to walk me to the jeep but i insisted i help him with the boat first. and though he wouldn’t let me help, i watched as he maneuvered her out of the water. there was something incredibly sexy in the way he handled her. a delicate strength. a man and his boat. and i couldn’t help but imagine if he would guide me with the same assurance.

we’re a few weeks and multiple dates in now and i’m in a daze. plans for so much more. and talk of when we get there. i’m trying not to let my jaded mind keep me from going into this with anything other than an open heart because i feel like a teenager falling in love for the very first time and i’m both excited and petrified by how perfect it feels.

 

 

 

 

Entry filed under: 40-something single, dating, relationships. Tags: , , , .

100 miles to nowhere 100 training: take two

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. PDX Running Chick  |  August 16, 2014 at 8:50 am

    Nice. Don’t over think. Just enjoy it.

    Reply
  • 2. Miss Mile High  |  August 16, 2014 at 6:00 pm

    I couldn’t love this post any more if I tried! Not only does it sound like an amazing first date, but knowing that you’re already past the first and still sounding so giddy about it all? Well, that just makes me mad at you for waiting so long to tell it! Jk – I’m so happy for you and hope it all continues!

    And I won’t be mad if you tell more stories of these dates. I’ll be quite pleased, in fact.

    Reply
    • 3. becelisa  |  August 16, 2014 at 6:38 pm

      I feel like I jinx things when I write about them and I wanted to be more secure that this might be going somewhere before I shared. I’m pretty damn giddy 😍 and I’m sure I’ll have plenty more to tell.

      Reply
  • 4. kitkat1126  |  August 19, 2014 at 4:06 pm

    Chills. This is as good as a romance novel and I want more!!! I expect more details when I see you SOON!!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts.

Join 150 other followers

the best of times

5k pr ~ 24:23
10k pr ~ 52:49
half marathon pr ~ 1:55:10
marathon pr ~ 4:10:41
half ironman pr ~ 5:57:50
50k pr ~ 5:33:23
50-mile pr ~ 11:32:39

Categories

Archives


